In January of 1974, then-California Governor Ronald Reagan delivered a speech concerning the United States’ role in the world, specifically adressing the negativity that many young Americans felt towards their country in the wake of the Vietnam War. Speaking in front of a group that included recently freed war hero John McCain, Reagan remarked:

You can call it mysticism if you want to, but I have always believed that there was some divine plan that placed this great continent between two oceans to be sought out by those who were possessed of an abiding love of freedom and a special kind of courage… Standing on the tiny deck of the Arabella in 1630 off the Massachusetts coast, John Winthrop said, ‘We will be as a city upon a hill. The eyes of all people are upon us, so that if we deal falsely with our God in this work we have undertaken and so cause Him to withdraw His present help from us, we shall be made a story and a byword throughout the world.’… We cannot escape our destiny, nor should we try to do so. The leadership of the free world was thrust upon us two centuries ago in that little hall of Philadelphia. In the days following World War II, when the economic strength and power of America was all that stood between the world and the return to the dark ages, Pope Pius XII said, ‘The American people have a great genius for splendid and unselfish actions. Into the hands of America God has placed the destinies of an afflicted mankind.’ We are indeed, and we are today, the last best hope of man on earth.

While Reagan’s accomplishments in office are many, it is the sense of optimism reflected in this speech that is his true legacy. Whereas his predecessor, Jimmy Carter, spoke of a country mired in a malaise, inhabited by a populace that tended to “worship self-indulgence and consumption”, Reagan was unflinching in his view of America as that “shining city on a hill”, a beacon of hope for the rest of the world. While our nation was not without its flaws, they were far outweighed by the tremendous good that the United States had accomplished throughout the course of its relatively short history.

It is with this sense of pride and PATRIOTISM that I have begun this blog. Some personal background first: I am a 26-year-old, native New Yorker who was born and raised Catholic. While, in the interest of full disclosure, I do not attend church nearly as often as I should, I strongly believe in God and view faith as a defining force in my life. I was brought up in a staunchly conservative household and have spent most of my life identifying myself as a Republican without ever truly understanding what that meant. It wasn’t until the last Presidential election, after having heard one too many of my friends proclaim that “Bush lied, people died” that I finally endeavored to ascertain exactly what those on the right side of the aisle stood for. I discovered two things about myself in the process: 1) the more I learned about conservatism, the more it strengthened my personal convictions and beliefs and 2) I really love arguing with my liberal friends.

I have several goals in mind as I begin this blog. First, as a former English major who has not done very much to put that degree to any worthwhile use, I see this as an opportunity to actually WRITE SOMETHING. Second, it will give me a chance to explore what I’ve learned in an entertaining manner and interact with others who share my viewpoints. And third, and perhaps most importantly, it will give me a chance to argue with a whole new batch of misguided liberals. Ideally, I envision this as sort of a compendium of conservative beliefs, a resource to celebrate what’s great about our country, both its past and its present, and comment on the evils we are facing and the battles we are fighting within and outside of our borders. There will also be space devoted to my other favorite topic, baseball (I am a die-hard Mets fan), as well as movies, television and anything else that should cross my mind.

I hope you’ll enjoy it.

— Scott

